OT Calling On @crandc (Need Thanksgiving Recipe Ideas!)

Discussion in 'Blazers OT Forum' started by ABM, Nov 6, 2019.

1. ABM

ABM Happily Married In Music City, USA!

Commercial Real Estate
    Hey there. Ms. @crandc!

You're definitely the Queen of epicurean offerings and affairs!

We will be hosting the fam for Thanksgiving and I would love to lean on your expertise for some really off-the-wall yet "winner" Thanksgiving recipe ideas.

Please note: I'm still relatively new to my wife's extended family. Me wants to impress!

Thanks in advance, my friend. :)

Chris Craig likes this.
  2. crandc

crandc Well-Known Member

Can you be a little more specific? Are you looking for turkey, sides, desserts?

3. SlyPokerDog

SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

I invented the Gravy Bar a few years back. It has grown to be very popular at family Turkey Day.

Last year's gravies were:

Gravy 1 - Wild Mushroom

Gravy 2 - Stout Beer and Orange Juice (A very unique and tasty combination for turkey)

Gravy 3 - Bourbon and Bacon (The King of gravies. Rich & smooth taste.)

4. Lanny

Lanny Original Season Ticket Holder "Mr. Big Shot"

Elec. & Computer Engineer OSU Computer Science PSU
    Make sure the turkey has crusty brown skin. This is one of the most delicious foods on the face of the Earth.
    Make giblet gravy. boil the giblets plus the neck in some water for a long time. Before dinner add the pan drippings to the giblet water, then add some flour and cook until the flour is done. Gravy is done.
    Reserve some of the giblets plus a can of water chestnuts for adding to the dressing which is nothing more that bread cubes plus sage plus the giblets plus the water chestnuts.
    Boil some peeled russet potatoes, mash, add some butter and some half and half. Then whip with an egg beater.
    Side dishes are really unimportant but candied yams are very nice.
    Dessert should include pumpkin (sweet potato) or mince meat pie.