Chromebook? Windows 8? Need some advice

Discussion in 'Blazers OT Forum' started by Run BJM, Jun 6, 2013.

1. Run BJM

Run BJM Heavy lies the crown. Staff Member Global Moderator

My Dell Latitude 500 is on its last legs. Probably really has been for a few years now. Unfortunately I'm not in a position to drop several hundred dollars (let alone anywhere near $1000+) on a new computer.

The Chromebooks appeal to me somewhat because I wouldn't mind dropping $200-300 on a decent computer that will last a couple years until hopefully I'll have more money to invest in a high end lap top. I'm already pretty Google integrated with my android phone, gmail, google calendar, and since I graduated college last year I only use Google docs for word processing anyway (and I don't type much these days anyway). Pretty much all I need a computer for now is casual browsing, streaming sports (can anyone tell me if firstrowsports.eu works well on a chromebook), and netflix? Also need to be able to hook it up to my TV but it has an HDMI port so that shouldn't be an issue.

But it also looks like some low end Windows 8 laptops aren't much more expensive. I've never used this OS, is it any good? Is it even worth the money to go with a low end lap top if the OS will be slow, or get slow? I like that the Chromebooks are highly streamlined and read they really don't slow down over time.

Any other options I don't know about for a lightweight computer user on a tight budget? What little I've used of Windows 7 I actually liked, would a used older Windows 7 laptop be worth investing in?

2. Denny Crane

Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

Never lost a case
    Get a tablet if all you want is browsing. The battery life is really good, and they're really portable.

Apple to announce new laptops next week?

3. Run BJM