Rumor Does anyone here know if Portland denied Mr. Olshey termination/severance payments he was due?

Discussion in 'Portland Trail Blazers' started by bloggeramg, Dec 4, 2021.

1. bloggeramg

bloggeramg New Member

Shot in the dark - by any chance do any of the fine Trail Blazers fans here know the answer to the question above? I'm an attorney and amateur journalist who is writing about the legal implications of what the Blazers did (pasted below) and I can't find the answer to the question anywhere. There are literally 100s of articles about the Olshey termination online and none of them answer this question.

The answer to this question would be relevant to your team's future -- because if your owner did use this "independent investigation" scam to screw Mr. Olshey out of termination payments, then it might make it hard to recruit elite managers -- those with options -- to work there. You need to be able to trust your team's owner.

Thanks

O'Melveny's suspicious "independent investigation" prompts a coordinated response

One aspect of the frivolous and entertaining world of sports is that owners will occasionally fire the team’s manager. George Steinbrenner was the archetype of such an owner, firing dozens of managers over his 30+ year tenure. He once changed managers three times in a season. But they were honest firings. As far as I know, the owners didn't try to swindle the manager out of severance payments they were entitled to under their contract. Well, according to reports, O’Melveny may have come up with a scheme to change that, prompting a reaction from National Basketball Association (“NBA”) general managers.