Warriors beat Suns 102-96 for 3rd straight win

Discussion in 'Golden State Warriors' started by Custodianrules2, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Custodianrules2

Custodianrules2 Cohan + Rowell = Suck

http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/recap;_ylt=AqfRijoivsFS3fYN1lp_wge8vLYF?gid=2012021309

OAKLAND, Calif. (AP)—Mark Jackson is a preacher by nature and by trade, so he knows as well as anyone that a message is often lost if there’s not proof behind the process.

For the first time in his young coaching career, Jackson finally has some evidence for players that his ways might just work.

David Lee had 28 points and 12 rebounds, Monta Ellis scored 18 points and the Golden State Warriors earned their first three-game winning streak under the rookie head coach with a 102-96 victory over the Phoenix Suns on Monday night.
    Phoenix Suns ' Steve Nash (13) drives past Golden State Warriors ' Ekpe Udoh , left, during the second half of an NBA basketball game Monday, Feb. 13, 2012, in Oakland, Calif. The Warriors won 102-96.
    Phoenix Suns ' Steve Nash …
    AP - Feb 14, 1:43 am EST

1 of 18
    Pho-GS Gallery

“It makes a big difference. When you’re trying to preach winning basketball, ultimately, you want results,” said Jackson, also an ordained minister. “It gets old saying the same things.”

Apparently the message is starting to resonate.

Rookie Klay Thompson added 10 points and fellow reserve Ekpe Udoh had nine points, including a layup with 35.9 seconds remaining that extended Golden State’s lead to five and capped a comeback from 12 points down in the second half. Golden State (11-14) also snapped a seven-game losing streak against Phoenix (12-16).

After Wednesday’s home game against Portland, the Warriors will play eight of their next nine on the road.