Youthful Magic

Discussion in 'Orlando Magic' started by Ice, Sep 23, 2003.

1. Ice

Ice JBB Member

Gooden works at growing up fast for Magic

From inexperience, the Orlando Magic now speak.

"I can't say I'm a veteran," power forward Drew Gooden said by telephone last week. "I've played only one season. I only played 26 games in Orlando. I feel like I'm still new."

Gooden will celebrate his 22nd birthday Wednesday. It almost qualifies him as elderly on this team.

One week before training camp, all you see is youth around the Magic. They are two tiers of young: young and really young.

In an astonishing upset, the Magic improved their athleticism, toughness and basketball savvy this off-season -- and got younger. It cost them a few million dollars as well as some cookies and milk.

After Gooden's birthday, the average age of the 13 players with sure roster spots will be 24.9. Subtract the injured Grant Hill, and that average is 24.5. The Magic figure to sign forward Donnell Harvey, 23, soon, and he will put them at 24.4.

They're inexperienced, too. Seven players (Harvey would make eight) have less than three years of service.

And, lucky them, they must conquer this franchise's latest impossible challenge: The young Magic can't be young, especially Gooden.

If the Magic go any place more extravagant than the first round this season, it will be because the ability of their youth overcomes the stunning lack of experience. In the NBA, this rarely happens. In Orlando's perpetual state of dismay, it must happen. Otherwise, scrutiny and apathy will conspire like never before in this city.

Gooden is the most talented of the really young tier. He left Memphis in February in the Mike Miller trade and found affection in Orlando because of his tenacity. Then he averaged 14 points and 12.7 rebounds over seven playoff games while recovering from a broken toe.

"I had to do something," Gooden said. "I didn't want to look back and say, 'Man, I wish I would've gone harder.' "