Well, it was intentional since he was trying to draw a foul. It was probably a good no-call, but I don't think he really had intentions on making it, and I don't know if this is really a shot he would be practicing, unless it's after practice and he's playing HORSE with teammates. However, this doesn't make it any less impressive. That shot was completely insane and incredibly difficult.
That's an amazing shot. Although, if I may channel my inner Maris - Leave it to the anal rapist to make a shot from behind (the basket).
Man, C'mon! That is probably the worst post in the history of this place! The guy makes a ridiculous shot! Who gives a fuck what the circumstances are. Quit drinking HATORADE and respect an amazing bucket! If you have ever laced 'em up and played real basketball, you have to give props on this one.
So, why does the shot count sometimes, but not other times? I always heard it never counts, but apparently sometimes it does, from what people are saying in this thread.
Awesome shot! I'm no Kobe luvr but that was pretty sweet. If it's against the rules, please quote section of rule book, etc...
I think 1(e)(9) covers it. e. On the following infractions, the ball shall be awarded to the opposing team out-of-bounds on the nearest sideline at the free throw line extended: (9) Ball passing directly behind backboard Assuming that he shot from behind the backboard (rather than from one side of the backboard) then it should have been a turnover. Ref fail. As usual. barfo
I'm not sure. I interpret "directly behind the backboard" as "passing through the space mapped out by moving the backboard horizontally backwards into the stands, maintaining the height and attitude of the backboard". Or something like that. Corner shots couldn't pass through that space. barfo
"b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds." Man, that's going to include when a guy is holding the ball under the hoop and moves his hands under the backboard while holding the ball. Or when a rebounder rebounds and cocks back his arm to throw the ball downcourt and his hand passes under the backboard. Or when a dribbler goes backdoor but keeps on dribbling right through and runs under the backboard. What I notice from both the links that HCP found (what an unexpected brain he is, does he have the rules memorized?) is the word "directly." So a shot from the corner is okay, but a shot from "directly" behind the backboard isn't. I envision a shadow, perpendicular 90 degrees behind the backboard.
I don't think it means behind and under the backboard. I think it means just behind the backboard. That is, if the ball is behind the backboard but 2 feet below the bottom of the backboard, this rule doesn't apply. barfo
I gotcha. Now that we've figured out when the rule applies, how about, why have the rule? What does it add to the game? What unfair advantage is it intended to prevent? It sure subtracts some entertainment value.
Unknown. I'll bet if we looked, we'd find that they added that rule because someone did something like Kobe did, and someone with the ear of the rulemakers didn't like it. barfo
I was at least 50% joking. I'm not even really hating on the guy. Jordan used to drive, get fouled, and flip those rediculous shots over his head (facing the opposite direction - where he can't even see the basket) Was some of that for show? Of course. It's possible, IMO, that Kobe saw his chance to make a shot that will be on every highlight reel for the next 20 years (like Larry Bird's shot) Does that really make me a hater? I'll give you that it was an amazing shot Basketball is entertainment. Watching the playoffs last season, where EVERY Laker win was proceeded by the cameras following Kobe to the locker room tunnel where he greeted his wife and daughter with kisses and hugs. Awwww - what a cute family. The first time I saw it, I thought it was for his corporate "family guy" image. The 8th time I saw it . . . I KNEW it was. So what? With all the money at stake, who wouldn't go along with that? I'm not slamming the guy. Fact is, that circus shot last night could quite possibly make Kobe more money. Could be on an NBA commercial, or an advertisement . . . I can't say he planned it, but I do wonder. And even if he did - good for him. It's actually pretty smart.
I love that he started complaining to the ref the second he threw it up because he didn't get a superstar call.
FAIL. Simple shot I make nearly every time playing horse. I can make it shooting backwards over my head w/2 hands also. Free throws are harder than that.