<---Not a potsmoker, not in the Northwest. OPI wasn't called, true. As every announcer and talking head said, it never is on hail mary's (see last year's super bowl as well). But if someone wanted to say they got "jobbed" by no OPI, fine. Otherwise, please explain your "he had it first comment". He never had sole possession of the ball (control and two feet down). If Tate has any semblance of possession when Jennings' feet came down, NFL rules state that tie goes to the offense. Is it that hard to grasp? No one is saying it's a great rule (much like the Tuck Rule), and no one's saying that common-sense-wise, it seems as if Jennings should have it. But that's not according to the rules, which is what refs go by. Sorry.
He made contact with the ball first, had both hands on it, and held it against his chest. Tate? Well he was reaching for it and trying to tug it out of Jennings hands. If that's posession, then they're in need of a rule change.
I was at the game -- it was crazy, bizarre and fun. Bottom line is both teams balled hard and it's too bad one play and the refs have to overshadow what was a really good game. By the way there were a ton of bad calls against both teams last night.
Possession is not confirmed until the player has had both feet touch the ground or another body part touch it. That is when possession matters not before. Jennings gets both hands on it, starts to pull it to his chest when Tate gets a hand on it. Jennings has one foot not both on the ground when Jennings grabs the ball with his other hand and stars pulling it. Now both players are in possession of the football. Jennings other hits the ground and now possession can be determined. Since both Jennings and Tate both having two hands on it and neither has had full control. There is no rule that says one player having a little more control wins, you either have full control or not and since Tate had two hands on the ball, one of them being underneath Jennings, it is a simultaneously caught ball. The video is pretty clear, that Jennings didn't have complete control when his second foot hits the ground. Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
I know the rules... If one player catches the ball, and another is touching the ball (which is all Tate was doing) as player #1 lands, that's not simultaneous posession. If it were, do you know how many interceptions would be reversed? Tate didn't have posession when they landed, he was trying to take posession from Jennings. There's a difference. Jennings clearly yanked away from Tate's reach as he landed with both feet (16.5 seconds in). You're right, the video is clear, but not in the way you think. It doesn't matter, it's over, just know that you're wrong.
If he yanked it away, and had clear possession, while Tate only had a hand on it, then it would have been extremely easy for him to pull the ball away from Tate. But he wasn't able to because Tate had possession as well. Started with his left arm, then used his right arm to secure it.
Rationalize all you want. Jennings fell on Tate, so no, it wouldn't be extremely easy to pull away after they're on the ground.
Your right it doesn't matter and its over. But your the one thats wrong. When Jennings grabs the ball he has 2 hands on it Tate has 1 hand on it. At that moment they both have the ball, one in more control. As they start falling Tates hand never leaves the ball and he gets another hand on it before Jennings gets both his feet on the ground. It doesn't matter that Jennings had more control over the ball because neither one ever had complete control. The NFL really needs to come out and make these rules more clear cut. Were arguing, in part, our interpretation of the catch rule which is about as vague as they come.
The Seahawks are on their way to a Superbowl victory!!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immaculate_Reception
[video=youtube;WDnSdkefYAA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=WDnSdkefYAA[/video] Here is another view showing Tate have his hands on the ball first and showing simultaneous possession. Can anyone truly deny it was a touchdown now? Sure they did blow the PI call, but it was a touchdown and was called correctly as simultaneous possession.
By the way here are my thoughts on what being at the game was like. It was as if the NFL was reenacting the 2000 Presidential Election, but this time my team won.
Just reviewed it again, and I am wrong here. Tate's right arm tries to get the ball, but instead it grabs Jennings right arm. Then he swings his right arm on the way down to grab with both hands.
Here's another angle that hasn't been seen that much http://landing.newsinc.com/shared/video.html?vcid=23823733&freewheel=91052&sitesection=kcpq And a photo making its rounds on facebook