Can anyone tell me why Solskaers goal was disallowed? The keeper let the ball out of his hands and solkaers didn't lift his leg high? The commentators seemed to think it was a goal but the ref disallowed it and booked him! Fantastic idea though, although if it had been allowed, I can just see the chelski/liverpool fans talking about favouritism. Anyway, not a bad result for UTD overall - we were unlucky to win it, I would have prefered a win, but we played so well earlier in the season, we could afford this result and we still sit nicely on top with all 3 competitions in our own hands.
The goalie is not to be touched when he has the ball. No player can interfere with the goalie by either fouling him or preventing him from kicking the ball. However, these rules only apply when the ball is in possession of the goalie (when he has the ball in his hand), and when he's within the 18 yard box. Also, the goalie is not to be interfered with within the 6 yard box, with or without the ball. Goaltenders are protected by the rules. The ref was right in calling it a foul and handing out the yellow.
The goal was just as valid as our goal against Lille - it may not have been a nice goal to concede but it was valid and if a team has the inexperience to concede it, thats their fault. Still never mind, at least it doesn't give chelski the excuse that we had favourable decisions when they have to give us our trophy back.
<div class="quote_poster">dan Wrote</div><div class="quote_post">The goalie is not to be touched when he has the ball. No player can interfere with the goalie by either fouling him or preventing him from kicking the ball. However, these rules only apply when the ball is in possession of the goalie (when he has the ball in his hand), and when he's within the 18 yard box. Also, the goalie is not to be interfered with within the 6 yard box, with or without the ball. Goaltenders are protected by the rules. The ref was right in calling it a foul and handing out the yellow.</div> Yeah exactly right, the movement between the ball leaving the goalies hands and kicking it counts as one movement and so nobody can interfere with the goalie in that time I must admit it was pretty funny to watch though
The rule states; when holding the ball and releasing the ball and then kicking it counts as one action and you are not allowed to interfere with this. Therefore, the goal shouldn't of counted and all Man United fans moaning are wrong
A keeper punting the ball is all the one movement... Solskjaer can not touch the ball until the keepers foot has... but I only got told this after he done it from a guy in the bookies
Mark Schwarzer kicked it knowing Solskjaer was there because he knew the rules, he knew nothing could happen so he kicked it. I stayed up to watch the game, went to bed at half time because it was about 5am. I never watched the second half after seeing the EPL Highlights show, but if I was watching it I'm sure I would have woken somebody up.