End of Rams/Hawks game

Discussion in 'NFL General' started by bakes781, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. bakes781

    bakes781 nfl-*****s member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Why doesn't an illegal formation penalty include a 10 second run off just like a false start? This is what occured in the final seconds of Sunday's game & I can't believe after all these years the rules committee never picked up on it. The Seahawks were able to kill the clock without having to waste a down & get the winning FG. How can this be allowed?
     
  2. Phinsuck

    Phinsuck nfl-*****s member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They're the Seahawks.
     
  3. porky88

    porky88 King of Kings

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The ball is snapped legally. It's more like a holding call than a fall start. As long as the ball is snaped legally then there is no run off. That's the rule so the right call was obviously made.
     
  4. bakes781

    bakes781 nfl-*****s member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (porky88)</div><div class='quotemain'>The ball is snapped legally. It's more like a holding call than a fall start. As long as the ball is snaped legally then there is no run off. That's the rule so the right call was obviously made.</div>
    So under that premise all you need is a center snapping the ball right? The rest of the players could be out of position & there would be nothing wrong with this as long as they're not moving.
     
  5. porky88

    porky88 King of Kings

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (bakes781)</div><div class='quotemain'><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (porky88)</div><div class='quotemain'>The ball is snapped legally. It's more like a holding call than a fall start. As long as the ball is snaped legally then there is no run off. That's the rule so the right call was obviously made.</div>
    So under that premise all you need is a center snapping the ball right? The rest of the players could be out of position & there would be nothing wrong with this as long as they're not moving.</div>
    That would be how the rule states it. A illegal formation doesn't mean you didn't snap the ball legally.
     
  6. bakes781

    bakes781 nfl-*****s member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Well am I the only 1 who sees something seriously wrong with that rule? I don't see it as being equivalent to holding b/c with that you have to include an engagment with the defense.
     
  7. TheBeef

    TheBeef Commish of FUN!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,495
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    So lets say the offense has 10 seconds to go and they throw a hail mary to the 5 yard line which is caught....instead of having the lineman try to run 50 yards to get set, they should just have 1 WR snap it to another who then spikes it, drawing the flag and 5 yards for illegal formation and shifting....but the clock is stopped and they have a play from the 10 yard line....heck, if all the O-lineman and QB just stop where they are, they wont even get the shift penalty, just the formation....under these circumstances, you should never wait for lineman to get set, just snap it to a man already down there....
     
  8. Thoth

    Thoth Sisyphus in training

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    the 801
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (bakes781)</div><div class='quotemain'>Why doesn't an illegal formation penalty include a 10 second run off just like a false start? This is what occured in the final seconds of Sunday's game & I can't believe after all these years the rules committee never picked up on it. The Seahawks were able to kill the clock without having to waste a down & get the winning FG. How can this be allowed?</div>
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Pats_fan420)</div><div class='quotemain'>They're the Seahawks.</div>
    Its Super Bowl payback. ROFL?

    The Rams lost therefore I have no problem w/ the game.
     
  9. bakes781

    bakes781 nfl-*****s member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (TheBeef)</div><div class='quotemain'>So lets say the offense has 10 seconds to go and they throw a hail mary to the 5 yard line which is caught....instead of having the lineman try to run 50 yards to get set, they should just have 1 WR snap it to another who then spikes it, drawing the flag and 5 yards for illegal formation and shifting....but the clock is stopped and they have a play from the 10 yard line....heck, if all the O-lineman and QB just stop where they are, they wont even get the shift penalty, just the formation....under these circumstances, you should never wait for lineman to get set, just snap it to a man already down there....</div>
    Exactly! I'm anxious to hear what Mike Parerra(head of officials) has to say on Total Access tomorrow.
     

Share This Page