I get it, you are a Seahawks fan. You are blinded by your loyalty, and that's great. Every person that has seen this has said it was a bad call. Chris Carter, who was a receiver said it was not simultaneous. Clearly shown that Jennings grabbed the ball with both hands, never lost possession of the ball, and Tate reached in with one hand and then wrapped his other arm around Jennings. From your statement above, if tate doesn't have control because Jennings has both hands on the ball, how is that simultaneous? How is that a reception by Tate?
#1 Defensive Rule for Hail Mary Pass - KNOCK IT DOWN! Packers would have won if Jennings would have done that!
Look, I'm a Seahawks fan, true, but I'm also not on the trail of ref hate ESPN's been pushing... Look at it this way. Let's say Tate isn't even in the picture. Let's say Jennings goes up, grabs the ball and comes down with one foot out of bounds. It wouldn't have been an INT b/c he never had "possession", because that requires control of the ball and two feet down in bounds. Now let's go back to reality. Jennings goes up and "controls" the ball. Before he comes down with two feet in bounds ("possession") Tate puts both of his hands on the ball with both feet (back) in bounds, so that when Jennings' feet touch down they both have two hands on the ball and feet in bounds. Hence, the "simultaneous possession." Everyone on creation thought Brady's Tuck was a fumble, too. Doesn't mean they were right.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/23/lions-hail-mary-titus-young-touchdown-titans_n_1907727.html They also would have won if the refs called it an interception like they should have
If you want to get really technical then, Tate never got both feet down after he had possession of the ball. His foot never comes down after he bear hugs Jennings. At that point, Jennings is in bounds, in possession of the ball, and Tate has not yet got both feet down, got one hand on the ball and the other around Jennings
the left picture in post 36 seems to show that he either has two feet or his butt on the ground before Jennings gets his second foot down.
I'll bet all kinds of players had both feet down on that play who also didn't have possession of the football
What if there is no male? You know, when a ref is kicked out of the Lingerie Football League for incompetence ... (I am not making this up) The funniest part? Scott Walker, Paul Ryan and others are now screaming about the incompetent inexperienced substitute refs and demanding the NFL settle so the league can have the professional refs back. Funny, they have no problem getting rid of professional teachers or firefighters...Ah, priorities!
I think this video makes it clear the refs made the right call. [video=youtube;_69zsC08cxg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_364750&feature=iv&src_vid=TXDs1YQO04k&v=_69zsC08cxg[/video]
For one thing I'm not a seahawk fan. I'm saying that Tate has both hands on the ball before Jennings is considered down. Possession of the ball doesn't enter the equation until the players are down. I That then means that you have two players that have the ball and both our down. It's a caught ball but neither can be ruled as having been the only one to catch it. That's a simultaneously caught ball. The video of the play clearly shows what I just said. If your going by the definition of the rules them it's a TD for Seattle. Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Paul Allen must have been in shock. He's so used to seeing the Blazers f'ed by the refs, he must have difficulty conceving of a call going his way.
As far as this play, I think it was a really tough call for any official. I don't really have an issue with it being called either way. The call was made on the field and there isn't anything conclusive in the replay to say it was wrong. The ending of the sunday night game was worse, when a game winning fg that may or may not have been good was counted and not reviewed.
What it looked like to me is Tate took the ball out of the defender's hands on the way down, which is quite common in football these days. He came down with the ball in his hands, regardless of the defender also having the ball in his hands. Tie goes to the receiver. End of story. I'm not a Seahawks fan either.
Yeah, too bad it wasn't a tie, Jennings had it first and kept it pinned against his chest the entire time. Not to mention the extremely obvious offensive pass interference that wasn't called (and which even the NFL admits the refs missed). As the announcers said, Green Bay got jobbed, and only pot smokers in the Northwest would disagree. End of story.