Backing up a PC

Discussion in 'Blazers OT Forum' started by BoBoBREWSKI, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,476
    Likes Received:
    74,812
    Trophy Points:
    115
    How much ram do you have in your system? While your computer is open it's always a great time to upgrade the ram. And video card. Makes the internet porn load faster.
     
  2. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    Got a 2TB hard drive. Going thru the fun re-install now.
    They said my old hard drive is toast. But I'm not giving up hope on being able to recover files from it yet. They said there are places that can still get the data as long as the disc itself isnt scratched.
     
  3. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    If you are using XP, you should consider upgrading to windows 7 or windows 8.

    This software can recover many/most of your files as long as the drive isn't physically damaged. You would hear the drive make bad noises if it's damaged.

    http://www.prosofteng.com/products/data_rescue.php

    $99

    You might find cheaper software somewhere.
     
  4. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
  5. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    If it says "starting windows" then it is reading SOME data from the disk.

    No guarantee much is readable though.

    It seems like a lot will be, but windows won't boot because it's retrying some disk error. It could be taking a long time, too.
     
  6. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,476
    Likes Received:
    74,812
    Trophy Points:
    115
    After he has removed the files that he wants to keep from the drive he should go to the drive's manufacturers website and download their software for testing and reformatting the drive. If the drive checks out he should reformat it, test it again and if that time it checks out he can use it for a second drive or internal backup.
     
  7. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    I wouldn't. It's toast. I really wouldn't trust it for anything at all.
     
  8. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    thanks!!!
     
  9. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    Crappy thing is that I dont have a microsoft office disk anymore.
     
  10. MarAzul

    MarAzul LongShip

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    21,370
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Life is good!
    Location:
    Near Bandon Oregon
    You guys forgot to tell him, the best time to back stuff up is when it all works.
    A tits up back up doesn't work all that well.
     
  11. MarAzul

    MarAzul LongShip

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    21,370
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Life is good!
    Location:
    Near Bandon Oregon
    Naw Sly! when a drive is questionable, you best get your stuff off while you can, and junk the bugger. When the heads don't fly right, they won't read very long.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  12. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,476
    Likes Received:
    74,812
    Trophy Points:
    115
    The files could be crunched but that might not mean the physical drive is damaged. That's why I said use the latest diagnostic software from the drives manufacturer. I've seen computer companies use the formatting software that comes with Windows instead of the formatting that comes with the drive. That can leave the data on the drive unstable but the physical drive itself fine. Test.Reformat.Test Again. After you do that then make the decision if you want to continue to use the drive.
     
  13. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    When I plug in the old drive, my PC finds it and it shows the files/folders but then says "not responding".
    Damn!
     
  14. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    I dont have an extra data cable, so I used the cable from my CD/DVD drive. Unplugged from cd/DVD drive and into old hard drive, left the other end of the cable in same spot. That OK?
    I can feel the drive working when I plug in the power cable. It doesnt make any crazy noises.
    The new hard drive is louder than the old one, but probably because I have the case opened up on both sides.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  15. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,476
    Likes Received:
    74,812
    Trophy Points:
    115
    Are you doing this with the computer on?

    Have you rebooted the computer since you replaced the DVD with the hard drive?

    Is the BIOS reading the hard drive?

    Who makes the hard drive?

    Are there any naked pictures of your wife or Mrs HCP on your old drive?
     
  16. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    Yes
    Yes, but it stayed on the "shutting down" screen so I manually turned it off after waiting 5 min. Haven't tried restarting with old drive plugged in. When old drive is plugged in, it seems to make everything that looks for drives to "not responding". I tried finding the drive with Security Essentials to see if I could scan it & it stuck at "not responding". Same with the program (demo) that Denny suggested.
    I don't know. ????
    Seagate
    Yes. No :cheers:
     
  17. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,476
    Likes Received:
    74,812
    Trophy Points:
    115
    If you try swapping the DVD drive with the hard drive will the computer is running the computer won't know that it has the hard drive installed, it will think it's still the DVD is installed. ALSO YOU CAN SHORT OUT YOUR COMPUTER SWAPPING HARDWARE WITH THE POWER ON. Don't do that anymore.

    Do you know how to get into your BIOS? Do you know what the BIOS is? You normally do it by hitting the F10 or the ESC key when you first turn on the computer. It will briefly flash on the screen how to do it.

    Once you're in the BIOS there will be a section for the Hard Drives and DVD stuff. Make sure that is reading the names of your 2 hard drives.

    Can you describe the nude pictures of your wife to me. In full detail, it will help determine how much more I really want to help you.
     
  18. Hobbesarable

    Hobbesarable Cartoon Character

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,752
    Likes Received:
    5,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    He could do it as Hoojacks suggested.

    Here's a link to How to Get Data Off an Old Hard Drive (Without Putting It in a PC)
    http://www.howtogeek.com/182452/how-to-get-data-off-an-old-hard-drive-without-putting-it-in-a-pc/
     
  19. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    Thanks Hoojacks and Hobbesarable! I might go that route if needed.
     
  20. EL PRESIDENTE

    EL PRESIDENTE Coronavirus is a chinese bioweapon.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    40,903
    Likes Received:
    15,888
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    3-1-0
    Don't listen to SPD. Your drive is fucked. Only way to recover the data is to pay $1000 to a recovery company. You can try freezing it as a last resort, but the drive is fucked.

    You need to mirror the drive but like I said it will hit that bad sector and freeze up
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014

Share This Page