Brittney Griner wins three awards

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by truebluefan, Apr 4, 2012.

  1. truebluefan

    truebluefan Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Apr 15, 2010
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    The trophy cases at Baylor might need to be expanded. Monday, Baylor center Brittney Griner picked up a trio of honors: the Wade Trophy, the Naismith Trophy and the WBCA defensive player of the year award.

    Griner previously won another national player of the year honor -- from The Associated Press -- before adding the Wade and Naismith trophies. The Wade is the oldest of the awards, dating back to 1978.

    Also honored Monday was Baylor's Kim Mulkey, who was named the WBCA coach of the year. The Lady Bears (39-0) play Notre Dame for the national championship Tuesday.

Share This Page