Calling All Geeks.....Calling All Geeks......

Discussion in 'Blazers OT Forum' started by THE HCP, Oct 11, 2016.

  1. porkchopexpress

    porkchopexpress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Whatever you decide, buy your own modem. I bought ours (forget what model, but it was a pretty well rated one) for at most $100, 5 years ago. It is still going strong. If we rented, that would have been $600+.
     
    Dougnsalem and SlyPokerDog like this.
  2. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    upload_2016-10-12_7-12-23.png

    Frontier FIOS
     
  3. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    Crap! I might have to buy my own modem! Is it easy to set up/switch from Comcast's modem to the Arris modem?

    I'm looking at my Comcast bill and I dont see a charge for modem rental. Hmmmm.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  4. SlyPokerDog

    SlyPokerDog Woof! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90,438
    Likes Received:
    74,744
    Trophy Points:
    115
    Yes. You'll have to call Comcast after it's hooked up.
     
  5. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    I just looked at my bill and chatted with a Comcrap agent. I'm not being charged a modem lease fee even though I have their modem.
     
    THE HCP likes this.
  6. KeepOnRollin

    KeepOnRollin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11,023
    Likes Received:
    5,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You will be now! I hope they thanked you for alerting them of their mistake. :)
     
    THE HCP likes this.
  7. BoBoBREWSKI

    BoBoBREWSKI BURP!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    3,220
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NW
    They better not! ha ha!
    I'm actually still chatting with them online right now and getting a refund for a digital adapter box that I have but havent used in a long time. I'm playing dumb, saying I dont have any extra boxes so they are going to refund me the $$ I've been paying on it each month.
     
    KeepOnRollin likes this.
  8. THE HCP

    THE HCP NorthEastPortland'sFinest

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    50,618
    Likes Received:
    29,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    N.E.P.
    Damn man, so how much a month does that cost?
     
  9. THE HCP

    THE HCP NorthEastPortland'sFinest

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    50,618
    Likes Received:
    29,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    N.E.P.
    And do you need your internet that fast for work?
     
  10. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    50/50 is $44.99.

    My homeowners' association cut a deal with Verizon. A portion of our HOA dues pays for internet and TV. It didn't cost much to upgrade the 50/50 to 150/150.

    Verizon FIOS got bought by Frontier Communications.

    150/150 is $64.99.

    I do a lot of software development that requires both uploading and downloading of big files or lots of files. The $20 extra is well worth waiting less for those uploads/downloads.

    For you, 50/50 is plenty.

    They do have Frontier in the PDX area, no?
     
  11. THE HCP

    THE HCP NorthEastPortland'sFinest

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    50,618
    Likes Received:
    29,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    N.E.P.
    I don't believe so.
     
  12. THE HCP

    THE HCP NorthEastPortland'sFinest

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    50,618
    Likes Received:
    29,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    N.E.P.
    Denny, since I have nothing but Mac products, should I get the Airport Express? Is that what I need?
     
  13. hoojacks

    hoojacks ...

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    343
    Trophy Points:
    83
    HCP, here is some terminology in case you're still unclear:

    The box that plugs into your wall via a cable wire is the modem. There's really no need for anything fancy here, but owning your own modem is a good idea so you don't pay Comcrap's rental fee.
    The box that plugs into your modem and provides wifi is called a router. You can get different types of routers depending on how big your house is.
    I think Comcast also offers a combined modem/router device as well.
     
    THE HCP likes this.
  14. Natebishop3

    Natebishop3 Don't tread on me!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    69,787
    Likes Received:
    25,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  15. Denny Crane

    Denny Crane It's not even loaded! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72,944
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Never lost a case
    Location:
    Boston Legal
    The Apple routers are a little more reliable, in my experience. I never had to reboot mine, but the cable company ones required frequent reboots. Annoying.

    You want the AC version - it goes 300mbit or more. If you have 150mbit internet and 50mbit wifi, the wifi limits you.

    Time Warner has 300mbit down/25 up for ~$70/mo.
     
    THE HCP likes this.

Share This Page