Team Construction

Discussion in 'Portland Trail Blazers' started by mediocre boy, Apr 23, 2015.

1. mediocre boy

mediocre boy New Member

This is my first attempt at this, so here it goes. It seems to me great teams in every sport are built in a similar way. All sports playoffs seem to be a little slower and more physical. In baseball it helps if you have a dominant rotation and bullpen. In football it becomes a rushing and defensive game and hockey relies on goaltending and defense. Basketball is somewhat the same with the game slowing down and more points coming inside and without a lot of fast breaks. With an owner that has built a great defensive and rushing football team that was a coaches aneurysm away from back to back super bowls, I am shocked the owner hasn't insisted we be built or coached more conducive to winning playoff games. There are definitely exceptions to this, but I think the rule would be a good one to follow.

2. maxiep

maxiep RIP Dr. Jack

Merchant Banker
    We miss Wes Matthews. He really is the heart and soul of our team.

HailBlazers likes this.
  3. BBert

BBert Weasels Ripped My Flesh

Selfless Public Servant
    That and he takes A LOT of pressure and attention off of Damian, freeing up his game. Oh yeah, and he plays defense.

4. OneLifeToLive

OneLifeToLive Well-Known Member

I'm surprised he hasn't looked at the blueprint of the Seahawk organization and what has made is successful in the last two years and try to replicate it down here. And then I remembered that would mean his removal in all player personal decisions. And then I become no longer surprised.

5. OneLifeToLive

OneLifeToLive Well-Known Member

BTW...any relation to Mediocre Man?

If there is, how is he doing?

BlazerCaravan likes this.
  6. jlprk

jlprk The ESPN mod is insane.

retired, while you work!
    I was going to say, I miss Mediocre Man, but OneLife beat me.